idriseleven:

zephfair:

leonardo-artista:

I’m working on reviewing S3e8 and there aren’t many screencaps around for this season at all :/  These are my poor quality screengrabs and edits as I try to figure out how Riario isn’t dead given the brutality of the beating Lorenzo dishes out, which Riario does nothing to defend himself from. Remember Lorenzo murdered someone for less already, and could easily have choked Riario or slammed his head into the marble, killing him in a similar fashion to how he dispatched Cellini.

My personal feeling is there ought to be a lot more injury, outer and inner – not so much as a black eye let alone any evidence of concussion is given, and that Riario’s had worse from other encounters.

This is why I’m always saying Leo and Riario are immortal. They walk away from things barely scratched, or heal up from things that should have killed them.

Poor Riario definitely got a beating, and I think that somehow Lorenzo must have been interrupted during it because I don’t think he had the self-control at that point to stop until he’d killed Riario. 😦 There is definitely a lot of “action movie healing” going on in the show because like you say, they walk away from things with few injuries or act miraculously healed by the next scene and our bodies just don’t work that way, unfortunately.

Given all the other enormous plot holes this show has gifted us with, injury and healing rates seem mild by comparison. That said–I am very very fond of the idea of the Vault of Heaven having changed the two of them, or that they have become immortal somehow, and I really enjoy your fics.

I suppose there would have to be some reason why Carlo and Caterina were not though. I’m sure we could come up with that. 

But given all Riario has been through in this series, he should be a much more broken man than he is. The erasure of Zita is criminal for many reasons, including the affect on his character it should have had. The creepy Laura mother/lover thing would unbalance a better adjusted person (look what it did to Oedipus!). Lorenzo would certainly have not stopped voluntarily. Riario has the most interesting arc, and that arc is only interesting because of the effects it has on his character/personality. The show keeps (kept?) hitting a reset button though, avoiding the accumulation of trauma that would have happened to a real person who went through all of this. That’s the show I wanted more of, and that’s what I think the fandom’s fics are trying to piece together out of the bits the show did give us.

I’m still figuring out the rules for my immortal au possibly with more forethought than the show writers might have and I’ll see it takes me 🙂
It was Carlo who went into the vault? My head canon was that Caterina and Incan Native Man (see how much attention I paid to these details, ie none) or more accurately then Caterina and Carlo entered the Vault and were immortal, hence Caterina’s non-drowning. (Also I like the idea that Riario killed Carlo to resuce Leo, and it’s not his fault the asshole revived :D)
Maybe Carlo revives from his drowning/smothering later, after Leo’s disappeared to work on his science project with Mary Sue Sophia? Maybe blood loss/throat cutting akin to beheading finally did for Caterina – or she revived somewhere much later;  I can’t imagine they did much more than toss her body overboard or in a mass grave. I could work it into fic if I cared enough about Carlo or Caterina to include them as anything more than a passing mention 😛

God, yes, I’ve ranted at length in reviewing e6 about Zita’s erasure and her death being the reason Riario confessed his matricide to Leo at all, reopening a wound he’d pushed aside until then. And then the show is simultaneously throwing Laura at Riario -breasts, look, you don’t want Leo, you want breasts! – and telling us she’s his mother figure. Make up your mind show, because you haven’t got the guts to do both given your lack of onscreen gay action which is hardly shocking these days.

The show keeps (kept?) hitting a reset button though, avoiding the accumulation of trauma that would have happened to a real person who went through all of this. That’s the show I wanted more of, and that’s what I think the fandom’s fics are trying to piece together out of the bits the show did give us.

This. All of this. What I loved in S2 was seeing the characters develop, Leo losing some of his arrogance, Riario opening up, and that’s what I too wanted more of. And they promised us more focus on the characters in S3 than the mysticism and that’s not what I’m taking away it, aside from e6 and Zo’s character development this season.
And thanks to you both sharing your thoughts 😀  I firmly believe there’s room for critical analysis and crack, and I adore reading both 😀

Gallery

Leave a Reply

